Print Friendly  |  
  • LinkedIn
  • Add to Favorites

 New Boards Elected at Annual Convention

The American Health Care Association (AHCA) and the National Center for Assisted Living (NCAL) elected full slates of board officers at their annual convention today. The officers will represent care providers for the 2018-2019 term.

Michael Wylie of Pennsylvania was elected for a second term as AHCA Chair, and Ashley Blankenship of Arkansas was reelected as NCAL chair.

“We are fortunate to have the knowledge and passion of these leaders on our Boards,” said AHCA/NCAL President and Chief Executive Officer Mark Parkinson. “Under Michael and Ashley’s leadership, we will be able to face the challenges and opportunities ahead.”

Wylie is vice president of development at Genesis HealthCare and a past chairman of the Board of Directors at the Pennsylvania Health Care Association. He began serving on AHCA’s Board of Governors in 2012, including holding positions as vice chair, secretary/treasurer, and at-large representative.

The remaining members of AHCA’s 2018-2019 board include:
  • ​Deborah Meade of Georgia, Vice Chair
  • Phil Fogg Jr. of Oregon, Secretary/Treasurer
  • Tom Coble of Oklahoma, Immediate Past Chair
  • Gary Kelso of Utah, Not-For-Profit Representative
  • Phil Scalo of New Jersey, Independent Owner Representative
  • Steven Cavanaugh of Ohio, Multifacility Representative
  • Fred Benjamin of Illinois, Regional Multifacility Representative
  • Chris Wright of Connecticut, At-Large Representative
  • Derek Prince of Texas, At-Large Representative
  • Janet Snipes of Colorado, At-Large Representative
  • Joseph Mitchell of Florida, At-Large Representative
  • Julianne Williams of California, At-Large Representative
The three ex-officio members on the AHCA Board of Governors include:
  • ​Veronica Sharpe of the District of Columbia, Affiliated State Health Care Association Executives (ASHCAE) Representative
  • Peter Corless, Associate Business Member (ABM) Representative 
  • Ashley Blankenship of Arkansas, NCAL Representative
NCAL also elected its Board of Directors today, including reelection of Blankenship as chair. She is the director of assisted living services for StoneBridge Senior Living, which operates assisted living, skilled nursing, memory care, and rehabilitation services in Arkansas and Missouri. She was elected to NCAL’s Board in 2010 and has held the roles of Vice Chair, Secretary/Treasurer, and At-Large Representative. She also co-chaired the Independent Owner Assisted Living Council and chaired the Risk Management Work Group.

The remaining members of NCAL’s Board of Directors include:
  • ​Helen Crunk of Nebraska, Vice Chair
  • Gerald Hamilton of New Mexico, Secretary/Treasurer
  • Chris Mason of Oregon, Immediate Past Chair
  • Rod Burkett of Illinois, At-Large Representative
  • David Chensvold of Iowa, At-Large Representative
  • Randy Cyphers of Oregon, At-Large Representative
  • Lee Field of Washington, At-Large Representative
  • Denise German of Kansas, At-Large Representative
  • Jay Leo of Oregon, At-Large Representative
  • Mark Maxfield of Idaho, At-Large Representative
  • Ed McMahon of Virginia, At-Large Representative
  • Barbara Mitchell of Georgia, At-Large Representative
  • Sean Mockbee of Arizona, At-Large Representative
  • Travis Romano of Massachusetts, At-Large Representative
  • Mary Savoy of Washington, D.C., At-Large Representative
  • Laurie Shepard of Michigan, At-Large Representative
  • Gail Sheridan, RN, of Minnesota, At-Large Representative
  • Heath Boddy of Nebraska, ASHCAE Vice President
  • Shawn Scott of Medline Industries, ABM Representative
As AHCA Chair, Wylie also serves as an ex-officio member on the NCAL Board.

“The members of the NCAL Board bring expertise and vision to our profession,” said NCAL Executive Director Scott Tittle. “We are honored they have chosen to share their talents to move the assisted living profession forward.”

Members of the AHCA Board of Governors are elected by the association’s governing body, the Council of States. The NCAL Board of Directors is elected by current members of the NCAL Board and by NCAL State Leaders or the NCAL State Leader’s proxy. Both boards hold elections for their members at the AHCA/NCAL Convention & Expo.
Facebook.png   Twitter   Linked-In   ProviderTV   Subscribe

Sign In